Book Review — Servants of the Storm by Delilah S. Dawson

Servants of the StormServants of the Storm by Delilah S. Dawson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I read this book entirely on Halloween and I can’t think of anything better to do while ignoring trick-or-treaters, lost in the dark and haunting world of Servants of the Storm.

The first half had me completely hooked. Of all the YA I’ve read, Delilah S. Dawson wins in terms of prose quality, and she uses this skill to great effect painting a vivid, yet mysterious and hazy setting.

Servants of the Storm dealt with themes of grief and loss and friendship more truly than I’ve ever seen. I can’t describe it (you’ll have to read the book to see for yourself), but it had me in tears at more than a few points.

The atmosphere and the treatment of loss are the novel’s greatest strengths.

However, call me a horror newbie, but there’s a twist where we enter the supernatural world and the book sort of lost me. The first half is terrifying, but as is always the case when the monster is revealed, it’s never as good as what your imagination can come up with.

We go from a creepy atmosphere and a strange little town where you don’t know what’s going on, to a world of demons that are cool, but just not on the same level of horror potential.

It’s a bit like peeking behind the curtain. No, it’s exactly like peeking behind the curtain and having that magic ruined. I’m not sure how to transition it better, but for me as a reader, the story lost a lot of its charm once the plot kicked in and the atmosphere went on the backburner.

All that aside though, it was still an incredible read that finishes strong. I loved the ending so, so much. It wasn’t all neatly wrapped up, and you finish with eyes wide, more terrified than when you began and with more questions than you’d expect from an ending.

Overall, a horror YA that’s worth your time. It’s a quick read, but the image of a haunted Savannah won’t soon go away.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

