Book Review — Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

Fight ClubFight Club by Chuck Palahniuk
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

What did I just read. Holy shit.

Believe the hype about Fight Club because it’s a masterfully written book that is dark, haunting, yet indescribably beautiful story.

It’s definitely in a more literary and stream-of-consciousness style than I’ve ever read, but once you get used to it it’s hard to put the book down (I guess it helps that it’s less than a quarter of the size of books I usually prefer, too).

Because it was such a unique reading experience, I’m having trouble describing it. I’m going to cheat and just say: you have to read it to understand. This is one of those books that will have you questioning everything about your own sanity.

For most of us, we’ve probably seen the movie first. I actually think it was ideal already knowing the central conceit: Tyler Durden is the embodiment of the unnamed narrator’s id and they are the same person. The subtle hints dropped throughout were satisfying to notice.

(I’m tempted to believe Marla Singer is also the same as Tyler Durden. Discuss in the comments.)

Fight Club is a wild, manic, thought-provoking ride that’s short enough to make it a must-read before you die. Though, honestly, I’m back to my regular fiction now…because this was depressing. Call me an optimist, but my worldviews and those presented in this book couldn’t be more different. I totally understand where he’s coming from and what it’s trying to do—I just don’t agree with it personally.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

