Book Review — Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter, #4)Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Perhaps I’m getting burnt out by reading these so quickly (or perhaps it’s because I finished this book in a fever-addled state), but I didn’t enjoy this as much as I should have.

The Goblet of Fire was easily my favourite book as a kid. It was when I hit peak Harry Potter fandom, and I probably re-read it dozens of times (just this book alone, not the whole series). By the time Order of the Phoenix came out, I was still a fan, but not as crazy about it.

Long story short, I used to love Goblet of Fire, and now coming back and reading it as an adult, I fear I may have ruined the magic.

Those tight scenes and that pace I admired so much in the first few books is gone. To be fair, this book reads like most fantasy novels I enjoy…but I had come to expect an economy of prose from Rowling and it was a bit of a shock to see how this one meandered.

Anyway, I’m going to continue with the series, but I’m already starting to feel that this might be my last re-read ever.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

