Book Review — Civil War: The Road to Civil War (Marvel)

Civil War: The Road to Civil WarCivil War: The Road to Civil War by J. Michael Straczynski

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

OK, so I’ve signed up for Marvel Unlimited mainly to read the Civil War story arc, but I can only imagine that I’ll get sucked into even more once I’m done.

(If you haven’t heard the news, Tony Stark will be in Captain America 3, which many are speculating will tie neatly into the Civil War theme, if not directly to the ideas here.

This was a decent starting point, and honestly my first real foray into superhero comics. I’m a fan of graphic novels, but so far have only read things like Watchmen, The Walking Dead, Saga, and Rat Queens.

I’m still a little confused because this is such a smorgasbord of everything. Holy interconnectedness, Batman! Comic Book Herald has been a great help in trying to parse it, but even this TP had the Fantastic Four, Iron Man, Spiderman, Thor, Dr. Doom, and a whole bunch of others I barely recognized.

This had a lot more talking than I had anticipated, but as a result was also deeper into the politics and philosophy than I could have hoped for. There’s lots of food for thought on the subjects of freedom, government, institutions, registrations, and much more in this volume. I’ve a sudden appreciation for Marvel that I didn’t quite get from the movies alone.

All in all, I’m loving this, and forwards we go! If you’ll follow that link up above, you can see I have a lot of reading ahead of me. Not sure if I’ll get burnt out, but right now I’m enjoying this so far.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

