Book Review — Theft of Swords (The Riyria Revelations #1–2) by Michael J. Sullivan

Theft of Swords (The Riyria Revelations, #1-2)Theft of Swords by Michael J. Sullivan
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Regrettably, I am putting this book down for now.

I gave it longer than I usually do, because I had heard so many rave reviews, and the author seems like a decent fellow, but in the end I think I’ve made the right decision.

I could never connect with the characters (the lack of females didn’t help with this at all), the humour (it thought it was more clever than it was), the world (I don’t think I’ve ever read a more stereotypical medieval European fantasy), or the story (which felt utterly constructed).

Theft of Swords gets touted as a light-hearted fantasy novel, but it was so far down that path as to be uninteresting.

I don’t mean to intend that I had expected Erikson and was disappointed because it wasn’t. Much like the rest of us, I too need a break from heavy fantasy (and I’m currently reading The Dark Defiles which is pushing my limits). This should have been a perfect fit, and I had really hoped to enjoy it, but it looks like it just wasn’t for me.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

