Book Review — The Way of Shadows: The Graphic Novel by Brent Weeks

The Way of Shadows: The Graphic NovelThe Way of Shadows: The Graphic Novel by Brent Weeks
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Tony the postman (yeah, we’re on first name terms) shipped this early, which means it’s my solemn duty to sing its praise before the official publication date.

If you loved Brent Weeks’s novel, The Way of Shadows, you’ll love this.

If you only sort of loved The Way of Shadows, you’ll still love this.

Brent has come a long way in his career, with each successive release being more impressive than the last. He’s taken all that he’s learned and effectively recrafting his debut novel into a stronger, tighter work.

This translates perfectly to a graphic novel, and what was a haphazard and confusing plot becomes easy-to-follow and progresses beautifully. The pacing is so spot-on that you’ll have to remember to pause occasionally and admire the artwork.

I’ll let you know that the final quarter of the book sort of lost me, but I will shoulder that blame alone since I was too engrossed to give the story the slow attention it deserves.

As far as novel adaptations go (having read a few), this is the best I’ve seen. Give it a shot.

For those of you who have never read the original novels and end up reading this graphic version instead, let me know what your experience is like. I’m curious how you’ll respond to the piece as someone fresh to the material instead of an old seasoned fart like me.

The Way of Shadows: The Graphic Novel will be published on October 7, 2014 from Yen Press.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

