Book Review — The Last Command (Star Wars: The Thrawn Trilogy #3) by Timothy Zahn

The Last CommandThe Last Command by Timothy Zahn

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The best of a highly entertaining trilogy.

What more can I say? If you dig Star Wars, don’t miss out on these novels. Click here for my review of the first, Heir to the Empire, and my review of the second, Dark Force Rising.

The Last Command in particular had a lot more epic space battles, which is exactly what I was in the mood for right now. I found the plot a bit tighter, and by the time we started building towards the climax, I started taking the long route home so I could listen for longer. My house has also never been this clean as I looked for any excuse to do random chores.

There were some damn memorable characters in this series. Grand Admiral Thrawn. Mara Jade. Talon Karrde. Gent. Bel Iblis. C’baoth. (OK, that last one’s spelling was a surprise…Not what I had in mind based on the audiobook). And of course the usual like Han, Chewie, Lando, and the rest.

A big cast in a bigger world, and just what I had hoped to find in a tie-in novel.

The ending was exactly how I like them: unexpected, yet inevitable.

Like many before me have said, Thrawn is the best part about this trilogy, and I will throw in my agreement there. For all him supposably being the “bad guy,” I would happily serve under the Grand Admiral. It is weird that (view spoiler)

Overall, if you’re looking for fun Star Wars books, pick these up.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

