Book Review — The Bullet-Catcher’s Daughter (The Fall of the Gas-Lit Empire #1) by Rod Duncan

The Bullet-Catcher's Daughter: The Fall of the Gas-Lit Empire, Book 1The Bullet-Catcher’s Daughter: The Fall of the Gas-Lit Empire, Book 1 by Rod Duncan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I took a chance with this book after seeing Rod Duncan on an Angry Robot Live hangout. Steampunk isn’t usually my thing, and I tried not to let that bias me, but actually, I’m more intrigued about the genre now than I ever was before.

What a pleasant surprise.

The Bullet-Catcher’s Daughter starts quickly and you’re wrapped up in a deep world, both on the world-building and on the character side. It’s to the level of an epic fantasy though it doesn’t feel that way. You’re never clubbed over the head with it, but the author isn’t faking it either.

I’m going to list a bunch of things, and if any of them interest you, reading this book will be a fun experience. Travelling troupes, circuses, magic, illusion, stage theatre, deception, gypsies, con-women. Need I say more?

My only complaint is that the whole book reads at a bit of a distance. The characters feel removed, and you never get too deep or get too attached. Could this be on purpose? I mean, it does tie in with the whole deception and theatre theme…

In any case, this novel will be published on August 26th from Angry Robot Books. Click here for all the fun bits like extracts and reviews from people more estimable than me.

Even better, the author has put together a page for the Gas-Lit Empire with all sorts of bonuses. Check that out by clicking here.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Book Review — The Bullet-Catcher’s Daughter (The Fall of the Gas-Lit Empire #1) by Rod Duncan

Leave a Reply

