Book Review — The Willful Princess and the Piebald Prince by Robin Hobb

The Willful Princess and the Piebald PrinceThe Willful Princess and the Piebald Prince by Robin Hobb
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I think it’s fair to say that at this point I’m addicted.

Some time will go by without reading any Robin Hobb, and I start getting the shakes, dreaming of the Fool, and wanting to go run in the woods alongside Nighteyes.

Now, while this doesn’t quite slake my thirst as much as the forthcoming Fool’s Assassin will, it’s still a welcome adventure.

The Willful Princess and the Piebald Prince is a delightful novella looking at the history of these two characters and how the Wit became demonized in the Six Duchies. They follow a similar style to the Farseer trilogy, in that it’s in first-person, but is a recounting of events. You get the sense the story is being told with much hindsight and time to think.

If you enjoyed that in her previous works (or if you’re just like me and simply needed more Hobb), I think you’ll enjoy this story.

Have you read this? Which of the two stories did you prefer?

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

