Book Review — Tigana by Guy Gavriel Kay

TiganaTigana by Guy Gavriel Kay
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Shoot, I’m writing this review way too late.

Tigana deserved all the five stars I gave it, and then some.

The writing was fantastic and intricate, I immediately fell for the characters, and the world-building was detailed but presented well. (If you know how much I hate info-dumps, and how often it happens in fantasy, then you’ll appreciate when a book does it well.)

My most favourite part about this book was how it toyed with my perceptions of characters. We read one point-of-view and think this guy is a total dickwad. And then we read from his POV, and suddenly we’re not so sure anymore. Gay plays with that delicious character ambiguity I so love. Mmmm.

My second most favourite part was how, like Name of the Wind, it incorporated music as a major part of who the character was. Having musical background myself, I absolutely love the scenes where the characters get lost in their music and the accompanying emotions.

For a stand-alone fantasy novel, you can’t do much better than this.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

