Book Review — Throne of the Crescent Moon (The Crescent Moon Kingdoms #1) by Saladin Ahmed

Throne of the Crescent Moon (The Crescent Moon Kingdoms, #1)Throne of the Crescent Moon by Saladin Ahmed
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

For a debut novel, I tip my hat to Saladin Ahmed.

In less than 300 pages, he managed to introduce five characters I genuinely cared about, all in the middle of a Middle Eastern-influenced setting that’s been lacking in the genre. I also like the way he switched POVs each chapter, and how description would change based on the character’s thoughts. Overall, the language was great too (and that’s saying a lot coming on the heels of the Malzan Book of the Fallen).

I thought the pacing could have used a little work, and I just wanted more! This novel could have easily been the standard 500 pages or so and would have added more depth. The lead-up to the climax seemed a little short and out of place, and the book’s end quickly sneaks up on you.

But enough little things. As I said, for a debut novel, I highly recommend this one!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

