Book Review — The Shadow Rising (Wheel of Time #4) by Robert Jordan

The Shadow Rising (Wheel of Time, #4)The Shadow Rising by Robert Jordan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I thought this book felt really long while reading it, and well, I was right. It’s the longest WoT book of them all.

The beginning didn’t grab me–I’m not a big fan of when the action stays just in one place with a lot of talking. Once it switched to more POVs and more travels, I loved the ride again.

Perrin’s story was great, as always.

I wasn’t too excited about Elayne and Nynaeve before, but they rocked in this book.

This was also perhaps Jordan’s best use of the third-person limited viewpoint, hiding and revealing information to the characters and readers effectively.

Unfortunately, Mat dissapointed me a bit. He was incredible in the last book, carousing around on his own. He became a bit bland and sulky being dragged around.

Getting excited, as I’m another step closer to Brandon Sanderson’s finale of the series! (Which just arrived in the mail. SO PUMPED)

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

