Book Review — The Sandman: Dream Country (The Sandman, Volume 3)

The Sandman, Vol. 3: Dream Country (The Sandman, #3)The Sandman, Vol. 3: Dream Country by Neil Gaiman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Wow. I’m glad I started reading The Sandman again.

Dream Country is the shortest of the series (I believe), comprised of four short stories. Take note of that before you get frustrated that none of the issues are part of a larger arc, like I did.

I’m still curious where this whole series is going, but this volume fleshed out the world a bit more, and is getting me to think about what I think the author thinks I should think about.

The artwork in this volume blew me away again. A perfect combination of [insert graphic novel jargon here]. What I mean to say is that it was pretty. And it worked.

Gaiman again show his skill at immediately dropping you into a story, and most importantly: making you care. This is one of the greatest author feats I admire, so my hat is off to you, Mr. Gaiman sir.

Overall, a chilling volume that does better once you’ve had a chance to digest all that you’ve had.

But wait, there’s more! Dream Country includes something very special in the back. It’s the script for Calliope, with Gaiman’s notes in the margins and an introduction. Rather than unweave the rainbow, this section upped the magic of graphic novels for me. I’ll admit that I’m new to this medium, but it was rewarding to see the kind of thought and direction that goes into the production of such a work. Gaiman’s comments to the artist and hilarious and insightful, and I can easily say that it has forever changed my appreciation of these works of fiction.

But who cares what I have to say? Go check out Tim Callahan’s re-read on Tor.com, since he has graphic novel wisdom that far surpasses my own.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

