Book Review — The Power of Now: A Guide to Spiritual Enlightenment by Eckhart Tolle

The Power of Now: A Guide to Spiritual EnlightenmentThe Power of Now: A Guide to Spiritual Enlightenment by Eckhart Tolle
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Eckhart Tolle is a fraud and a liar.

I read this book because on a fundamental level, I agree with the principles. Living in the now, and not worrying too much about what has happened or what will happen.

It’s something that I’ve really come to appreciate through my yoga practice, and has made its way into my day-to-day life. I find myself a happier person that I can simply enjoy whatever I am doing, be it having a coffee on a patio, or being with friends, or even something seemingly benign as grocery shopping. Turning my thinking mind off, and concentrating on what I am experiencing in the present.

Anyway, don’t read this book, it’s a waste of time. Most of it is unintelligible mumbo-jumbo.

But what really make me mad is the author’s utter disdain for critical and rational thinking. At one point he talks about curing health problems by something silly like resonating your body’s energy frequency or whatever.

The question that came to mind is something he actually included (the book is written in a Q and A format).

“Is there any scientific evidence to back this up?”

His response, and I kid you not ladies and gentlemen: “Try it for yourself, and be the evidence.”

Oh boy, shoot me now.

Eckhart Tolle repeatedly makes unsubstantiated claims, and shows a clear ignorance of probability, the scientific method, critical thinking, and coming to rational conclusions.

Don’t be a sucker. Don’t read The Power of Now.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

