Book Review — The Joy of Cooking by Irma S. Rombauer, Marion Rombauer Becker, and Ethan Becker

Joy of Cooking: Joy of CookingJoy of Cooking: Joy of Cooking by Irma S. Rombauer

If you like cooking, or more importantly if you don’t, get this book. Right now. Go on, I’ll wait.

Since I’ve bought JOY, it’s been resting open in my kitchen and hasn’t moved. I can’t even count how many recipes I’ve made from it so far.

Reasons why this is a must-have book in your home:

– An almost exhaustible list of recipes. If you want to cook something, changes are JOY has it
– Recipes you can trust to be tasty
– The easiest-to-follow recipe layout I’ve ever seen
– Aside from recipes, JOY has excellent tips about ingredients, preparation, and general cooking advice. You will learn so much more than just how to follow a recipe.

Now I am in love with cookbooks, but I can’t think of any other that I find will top this one.

Note: This book will be perpetually on my “currently-reading” shelf, but I wanted to write a review and count it towards my 2013 goal.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

