Book Review — The Hammer and the Blade (Egil and Nix #1) by Paul S. Kemp

The Hammer and the Blade (Egil and Nix #1)The Hammer and the Blade by Paul S. Kemp
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Full disclosure: I haven’t read any of the “classic” sword & sorcery books like Moorcock, Lieber, or Howard, from which this book is heavily derived.

What a fun tale.

Imagine a fantasy buddy comedy. That’s pretty much what The Hammer and the Blade is.

I did like the story, and the characters were fun to hang out with, but overall I gave it three stars because that’s all it was: fun. I’m not sure if I would go back and re-read it, because I don’t think I would gain anything new.

Also, a few small writing quirks notched this down for me. Most notably how the author uses words that stand out frequently in the span of a few pages, and the result is quite jarring.

It’s a natural thing to happen when you’re writing, but I think an editor should catch that before publication…

Anyway, a fun sword & sorcery romp filled with adventure and humour!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

