Book Review — The Great Hunt (Wheel of Time #2) by Robert Jordan

The Great Hunt (Wheel of Time, #2)The Great Hunt by Robert Jordan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Mixed review on this one.

I did enjoy it. I really did. It was a well-crafted story with excellent prose, characters, and milieu.

And I wouldn’t say I got bored… something was just missing. For one, I definitely miss the razor-sharp wit and dialogue I’ve come to love from authors such as Brent Weeks, Lynn Flewelling, Scott Lynch, and even Brandon Sanderson. Also, I’ve found Jordan’s endings leave a little something to be desired. I guess he knew it was going to be a long series, because I wasn’t scrambling to finish that last hundred pages, that’s for sure.

Believe it or not, I’ve actually jumped out of my chair and fist-pumped with how awesome characters could be, or the way a particular scene turned out. That didn’t happen with The Great Hunt.

So, again, a book that I’m glad I read, but nothing that really stuck with me.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

