Book Review — The Bone Doll’s Twin (The Tamir Triad #1) by Lynn Flewelling

The Bone Doll's Twin (The Tamír Triad, #1)The Bone Doll’s Twin by Lynn Flewelling
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Woohoo, my second audiobook!

Usually my podcasts are enough, but as summer approaches and I start to train for Tough Mudder, I have more and more time to listen.

I was a bit apprehensive at first, because I’ve never done a fiction audiobook, but the narrator here did a fantastic job with the character voices and general reading.

As for the story itself, I enjoyed it. Similar to Robin Hobb’s Farseer Trilogy, we follow a young boy (who is really a girl) as he grows up. By the end, I came to cherish the friendship between Tobin and Kai’s childish exploits. The first few chapters had more info dumps than I would have preferred, but the story settles in nicely after that.

I mentioned earlier that the protagonist is a girl who is raised in the skin of a boy. As in her previous Nightrunner series, Lynn Flewelling explores themes of sexuality and gender. What does it mean for a girl growing up being raised as a boy? How does that affect the developmental stage?

Since this novel ends on a cliffhanger, I guess I will continue my audiobook journey soon!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

