Book Review — Shades of Milk and Honey (The Glamourist Histories #1) by Mary Robinette Kowal

Shades of Milk and Honey (Glamourist Histories, #1)Shades of Milk and Honey by Mary Robinette Kowal
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Meh. It wasn’t the author that made this a mediocre book for me, but rather the content and genre. I really can’t stand regency novels. Maybe it’s because I’m a guy, but nobody died, was eviscerated, or swore throughout the whole book, and that turned me off.

The whole pomp and primp is lost on me. Gasping because someone calls you by your first name or sees your calves is utterly ridiculous. I understand that society used to act like this, but I still don’t enjoy reading about it.

What gave this book a three was ultimately the plot. Characters were decently developed, but the imagery, world-building, and story didn’t hook me.

Hats off to Mary Robinette Kowal though for her writing. There is not a single word in Shades of Milk and Honey that does not appear in one of Jane Austen’s novels. She actually used a database to check it was written in the same style. How’s that for research?

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

