Book Review — Encyclopedia Brown, Boy Detective by Donald J. Sobol

Encyclopedia Brown, Boy DetectiveEncyclopedia Brown, Boy Detective by Donald J. Sobol
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Things I have learned today:

– I probably shouldn’t become a detective
– I am no better at Encyclopedia Brown than when I was little

These books are such a throwback to childhood. I remember being so happy when a new one that I hadn’t read would appear in my local library.

Each case is pretty short (5-10 pages) and ends with a “how did Encyclopedia know he was the thief?” You have to turn to the end to get the answer, which I’ll say is a pretty entertaining way of reading, especially for kids. It gets them involved in the process, which I think is valuable.

Here’s the thing. There were 10 cases in this book, and I only solved 5. Sigh. I’m getting better at spotting telling details and clues, so let’s see if I can do better with the next.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

