Book Review — Under Heaven by Guy Gavriel Kay

Under HeavenUnder Heaven by Guy Gavriel Kay
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again.

Guy Gavriel Kay’s works are a celebration of the English language. It is simply beautiful to read.

Kay started out as a poet, and that’s clearly evident in Under Heaven, where not a word is out of place.

The themes of this book are subtle, and will only hit you after some time has passed for digestion. Truth, stories, people, memory, history. The whole time I was reading I thought this book would be 4 stars, but after a few sleeps on it, I can’t get it out of my head.

This is not your traditional book, and I don’t think I’ve ever read anything like it.

The author has an uncanny ability for truth bombs. You’ll be reading along, and just a couple of lines will change the way you look at life.

I know that sounds cheesy, but bear with me.

There are a few key poignant moments where I actually had to stop reading, close my eyes, and just sit. I have no idea how he does it, but Guy Gavriel Kay has pierced the depths of my identity and made me feel much more vulnerable than I’m comfortable with.

Aside from that, the author is incredible at writing historical settings, and if you’re looking for a novel set in China, I recommend you start with this one.

He’s in Vancouver in a few weeks to promote the loose sequel, River of Stars, and I am excited to finally meet this hero of mine!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

