Book Review — Toll the Hounds (Malazan Book of the Fallen #8) by Steven Erikson

Toll the Hounds (Malazan Book of the Fallen, #8)Toll the Hounds by Steven Erikson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Wow. If you’ve made it this far – the eighth tale of the Malazan Book of the Fallen – you must be as in love with Erikson’s writing as I am. I’m finally used to all the frequent POV shifts, and find it a tremendous display of skill how he can set mood and weave stories like no other.

The beginning of this novel was a bit slow, especially because I absolutely love reading about Malazan marines, and they were noticeably absent in this novel set primarily in and around Darujhistan. However, the last half had quite an emotional impact on me. There were a few scenes there where I had to stop reading from the sheer palpitations of my heart.

One thing that stood out which I enjoyed most was the omnipresent voice of our beloved Kruppe, and how it felt many times that he was telling us this story. I’m not entirely sure what the full extent of his powers are, but it’s enough that he seems to know what’s going on with everything. Having him whisk us around the simultaneous plots, and notice where he was the observer made this one of the most powerful installments of this series, even if not much happened in terms of fighting action.

In closing, if anyone would like to explain what happened with Anomander Rake in the end, that’d be great. It all went completely over my head. I suppose I’ll figure it out on the third or fourth re-read.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

