Book Review — The Thousand Names (The Shadow Campaigns #1) by Django Wexler

The Thousand Names (The Shadow Campaigns, #1)The Thousand Names by Django Wexler
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This should be near the top of all the “best of 2013” lists floating around these days.

The Thousand Names is what I guess you could call “flintlock fantasy.” That is to say, fantasy where primitive guns are present and mix with magic. Django Wexler says it best:

I have always thought that it’s a little strange that fantasy tends to concentrate on what’s really a very small slice of history (basically 13th or 14th century England) when there’s so much available to use as an archetype. So I was really excited about the idea of basing a fantasy world on something else, and when I started reading about Napoleon I thought, “Okay, this is it!”

If you’re a fan of military fiction, especially that revolving around soldiers on the march (e.g., Steven Erikson), I think you should give this a try. (I don’t want to spoil much, but I will say that there are cannon duels. Let me say that again. Freaking cannon duels.)

Also, the author does a great job bringing the reader through new concepts, since we’re relatively “uneducated” about these things. I mean to say that by now we’ve all sort of figured out how swords and horses work. Flintlocks, cannons, and bayonet squares? Not so much. Django has mentioned that he has plans to make the battles even larger in future books once the groundwork has been laid.

Now, Goodreads doesn’t like us talking about the authors, but I think Django is a stand out guy who’s supportive of and responsive to his fans. He even stopped by The Not a Book Club Club to answer questions!

This is an author to watch, so check out his website, and follow him on Twitter.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

