Book Review — The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

The Ocean at the End of the LaneThe Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I have a feeling that everyone who reads this book will have a different experience.

Gaiman speaks straight to your childhood. I’m not talking about kiddy references, I’m talking about the essence of what it means to be a kid.

Neil Gaiman is in a different tier from all other authors (save Robin Hobb perhaps). There are those that write great dialogue, or great characters, great plots, great action, you get it. There are many talented authors out there, but not all have that “X Factor.” None will speak to you as deftly, as subtly, and as passionately as Gaiman. In fact, I’m convinced that he is a genius.

This is a short book, so find yourself a quiet spot, take it all in, and surrender yourself to the legend that is Neil Gaiman.

It rocked me and left me reeling, and I’m sure it’ll do the same for you.

PS super squee time: I’m going to see him tomorrow night! Coming to town on tour for this book and I couldn’t be more excited.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

