Book Review — The Inheritance and Other Stories by Robin Hobb and Megan Lindholm

The Inheritance and Other StoriesThe Inheritance and Other Stories by Robin Hobb
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’m not sure if this is the time or place for me to express my everlasting love for Robin Hobb.

Because you have to understand that as you read this review, if it sounds like fanboy gushing…well, it probably is.

This is the first time I’ve read an anthology by a single author. So, not a collection around a theme, but simply a collection of shorter works by one author.

For me, this is a large part of what made it stand out. The book’s preface and introduction to each story were short insights in Hobb’s writing career, and I had just as much fun reading them as some of the stories.

As for the stories themselves…I was blown away. I’ve said this before, but I’m not usually a fan of shorter works since the emotional connection is missing. Well, clearly I just haven’t been reading the right stories.

Every story in here is wonderful. Every story will make you think and make you empathize, and most importantly: make you care.

But in the end, keep in mind that I’m heavily biased. Perhaps you should fall in love with the author too, and then come read this. May I recommend Assassin’s Apprentice as an excellent place to start?

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

