Book Review — The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time #1) by Robert Jordan

The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time, #1)The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Good ol’ Fantasy, at its best!

If this would have been published today, it would be cast off as derivative, unoriginal, or full of tropes.

*shrug*

I kinda liked that. I read Fantasy because I enjoy it. Not every single book needs to be genre-shattering. Sometimes I do enjoy the whole farmer boy leaves village in search of a grand adventure.

Course, it helps that Robert Jordan does it very, very well. The writing quality impressed me, and I’m eager to continue the series and see how the world-building and characters shape up!

Recommended for anyone who likes Fantasy and most of its tropes. Magic, monsters, swords, taverns, stews, that sort of thing. If this wasn’t such a long series I’d even recommend it for someone looking to break into the genre.

A few quick notes:

– I’m hoping to finish the Wheel of Time by January 8 when A Memory of Light is released. Not sure why I’ve waited this long to start, it’s been sitting on my bookshelf for years…

– Reading went pretty quick for this book because I read in a combination of paper and ebook versions. I kept the massive hardcover tome at home (since I really do prefer reading on paper), but still had my ereader for when I was on-the-go. It more than doubled my reading time, which is a good thing because I have about twelve more books to get through…

Onto the next!

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Book Review — The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time #1) by Robert Jordan

    • That’s a fair complaint that I’ve heard from many, many readers.

      I really wanted to tackle this series, not in the least part because Brandon Sanderson (one of my favourite authors) has written the last three and I was looking forward to reading those.

Leave a Reply

