Book Review — Storm Front (The Dresden Files #1) by Jim Butcher

Storm Front (The Dresden Files, #1)Storm Front by Jim Butcher
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Re-read update:

OK, on a re-read this book was bumbed to a solid four. Jim Butcher has a firm grasp on first-person narrative and Harry Dresden’s voice is one of the most unique I’ve ever read.

I’m pretty much hooked, and could read any story with Dresden in it because I find him so damn fascinating.

Also, this is largely an audio read for me, and the narrator is beyond phenomenal. The sighs and hushed tones greatly add to the book.

*******

Let me preface this by saying that I read Storm Front right after finishing Steven Erikson’s House of Chains. It took me a little while to get used to the toned-down style, but overall I enjoyed this book.

By the end, I think I’ve come to like Harry Dresden as a character. Funny, somewhat clumsy, and not as powerful or tough as you’d imagine. The first person perspective really helped with getting to know him.

I feel that the Dresden Files will be novels that I’ll be coming back to when I’m looking for a quick read, to immerse myself in a fast-paced mystery plot at the hands of Harry Dresden.

Looking forward to continuing with the series!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

