Book Review — Lord of Chaos (Wheel of Time #6) by Robert Jordan

Lord of Chaos (Wheel of Time, #6)Lord of Chaos by Robert Jordan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is a late review, since it’s been a hectic few weeks with work and moving.

Anyway, here are some of the scattered thoughts I wrote down while I was reading:

– More Perrin! After a noted absence, it’s good to have one of my favourite characters back

– I can’t really tell a lot of the Forsaken apart. You’ll forgive me, but Wheel of Time has a lot of names.

– Hate to compare this to Game of Thrones, but WoT doesn’t seem as memorable. I’m not sure if the TV show has skewed my perceptions, but there are parts of A Song of Ice and Fire which stand out, even to this day. Things like all the Houses and what they do, the Wall, the Eyrie, Dragonstone. While I am enjoying this series, its originality lies in established fantasy tropes, instead of unique ones that you’ll remember.

– The geography in this series completely passes over my head. Again, compared to Game of Thrones, I have no idea where a lot of the action is happening, even though I refer to the map a lot. I’m not doubting his world building (it’s simply incredible), just that it’s not so intuitive.

– I almost thought the prologue was an Erikson novel, with all the POV switching…

– I wish there were more viewpoints of people not in positions of power. I find it fascinating when we see the effects on a society/culture from the eyes of common people. A lot of this series deals with characters who have extraordinary influence, because they’re kings, Wise Women, generals, etc. Guess this is to be expected from epic fantasy, though Erikson manages it more to my tastes.

– There was a solid mix of introducing new threads and bringing back old ones

– Lots of twists and turns in this one! (view spoiler)

– I think I liked Egwene’s character most in this book, because of her involvement with the Aiel and her learning of toh.

– Not as much fighting/action, but I still liked it.

– Jordan did another great job with the dramatic irony, where characters can be so clueless of what’s actually going on (understandable in a world without internet and cell phones).

– The books are starting to blur. I love the series as a whole, but can’t really differentiate between each one. I think this happens to all series, because I have the same problem with others I’ve read.

– One thing that annoys me is how Jordan skips over crucial information just to keep the suspense going. Example: “Mat beckoned to his captains to sit down. After they had discussed the grand plan, he went to the door and…” He does this a lot, where the audience is left in the dark, though the character knows something. There are many ways to build tension, and this is my least favourite.

– It’s funny how I can tell when something is on Jordan’s mind, or when something new occurs to him. It’s as if he went to a good holiday party and drank some punch, because punch was EVERYWHERE in this book. And the whole ordering/deference/rank of Aes Sedai. Though I do understand, because there’s no way he could have built the whole world to such an epic series from the beginning, and he needs to add things as they come along. I love his imagination, so I’m not complaining.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

