Book Review — Dust of Dream (Malazan Book of the Fallen #9) by Steven Erikson

Dust of DreamsDust of Dreams by Steven Erikson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I am writing this having just finished the penultimate chapter in the Malazan Book of the Fallen; my heart is still racing, my fingers quiver over the keyboard.

Erikson outdid himself in the final chapters of this book, a true maelstrom of action and intensity. Imagine a Michael Bay movie playing in your head while reading. I was going to read another book before starting The Crippled God, but I know now that I cannot wait to finish this truly epic series.

The author’s anthropological background shines through as he presents such a detailed and deep perspective of different cultures and the people within them. This novel especially spends a lot of time within characters’ heads, and we follow long passages of internal reflection, rhetorical questions, and philosophical musings. As usual I didn’t understand all of it, but the overall emotion evoked is unparalleled.

If you thought the 9th book was too late to introduce new characters, you were wrong! I can’t wait for a re-read to actually figure out what the hell is going on most of the time.

There’s not much else I can say. If you’ve read this book, you probably already love Erikson as much as I do and I hear the Crippled God is a very satisfying conclusion.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

