Book Review — Blood Rites (The Dresden Files #6) by Jim Butcher

Blood Rites (The Dresden Files, #6)Blood Rites by Jim Butcher
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is the best Dresden novel yet.

Jim Butcher’s writing is getting better and better. It’s tighter, cleverer, and has a higher laugh-out-loud per chapter ratio, much to the consternation of everyone else on my commute.

This is my preferred style of humour, and Blood Rites is probably the funniest book I’ve ever read.

In fact, it had one of the best single lines ever, which was doubly as effective in audiobook because it was read slowly and I couldn’t peek ahead and ruin the surprise.

Ready? Here it is:

“It’s harder to find than a needle in a cliche.”

In the moment, that blew my mind and I had to pause the audiobook and finish guffawing.

The story and characters were top-notch as usual, and I appreciated the long denouement after the climax. Too many books end so suddenly once everything comes to a head.

Lots of secrets in Harry’s world came out in this book, and I’m glad there are so many more books in this series to explore the world.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

